Radha Kunda

Glories of Radha Kunda     Appearance of Radha Kunda in the Material World
Lord Chaitanya Rediscovers Radha and Syama Kundas
Raghunatha dasa Goswami Excavates Radha and Syama Kundas
Bathing at the Kundas
     Goswami Temples at Radha Kunda
Ma Janava's Sitting Place     Raghunatha dasa Goswami's Samadhi
Krishna dasa Kaviraja's Bhajan Kutira     Panca Pandava Ghat
Srila Bhaktivinode Thakur's Bhajan Kutira      The Sangam
Chaitanya Mahaprabhu's Sitting Place    Giriraja Maharaja Mandir and Caran Cinha

Goswami Temples at Radha Kunda

At  Radha-kunda can be found replicas of all the Goswami temples of Vrindavana. In the year 1670, when the soldiers of the Muslim zealot Emperor Aurangzeb, attacked Vrindavana, all the important Deities of the Goswami’s were secretly taken by bullock cart to Radha-kunda for safe keeping. It is said that for some time the Deities were actually submerged in Radha-kunda until the fear that they may be destroyed by Aurangzeb’s soldiers had passed. It was decided that the Deities would be taken to Rajasthan which was still under the control of Hindu Kings, who were all staunch devotees of Krishna. The rulers of Jaipur, the state capital of Rajasthan, were only too happy to accommodate the Deities of the Goswami’s and even today most of these Deities are still being worshipped in Jaipur.

Before the Deities were taken to Rajasthan, replicas of them were carved at Radha-kunda and later installed in temples situated around Radha-kunda, as well as Vrindavana. These replicas of the original Deities are considered to be non-different and are called the Pratibhu expansions, which means the representative of the original Deity, having the same spiritual potency. The Vrajavasis say that the Goswami temples were built here so that the local residents and devotees do not have to leave Radha-kunda to have darsana of the Goswami’s Deities.

List of Pratibhu Deities at Radha-kunda and who established the original deity

Name of Deity Established By
Radha-kanta         Vakresvara Pandita Goswami  
Radha Syamsundara  Syamananda Pandita Goswami 
Radha Damodara  Jiva Goswami 
Radharamana Gopala Bhatta Goswami 
Radha Govinda Rupa Goswami 
Radha Vinoda Lokanatha Goswami 
Radha Madhava Jayadeva Goswami 
Radha Madana-Mohana Sanatana Goswami
Radha Gopinatha Madhu Pandita Goswami
Radha Gokulananda Visvanatha Cakravarti Thakura
Sri Sri Radha Govinda

top of page

© Mayapur Vrindavan Trust - 2002-2008, 2009, All rights reserved. Graphics and Text
Website Design - ashram-arts.com   Website hosted by v247s.com